Travel To Malawi


Citizens of the following countries do not need a visa to enter the country. If you are from a country not on the list below, you will need to apply for your Malawi e-visa.

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Botswana
  • Dominica
  • Fiji
  • Gambia
  • Grenada
  • Hong Kong, China
  • Israel
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Northern Ireland
  • Samoa (Western)
  • Seychelles
  • South Africa
  • St. Kitts Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Types of Visas

Application Requirements


A permit issued to a foreign national allowing him/her to enter and reside in Malawi for a short period for purposes of tourism, visiting relatives and business. It is valid for 30 days which may be extended for a further 60 days upon application and payment of appropriate fees.

A permit authorizing a Prohibited Immigrant to enter Malawi for temporary residence therein or to travel through Malawi upon such conditions as may be prescribed by the Minister.

A permit issued to a visitor with a valid visitors /Business Visit permit who has resided in Malawi for
the maximum of 90 days but has a legitimate and justifiable reasons for continued residence.

A permit issued to persons before they enter Malawi for the purpose of taking up specified employment in Malawi.

A permit which allows a person to enter Malawi and study at an approved Educational Institution.

A permit which authorises a person to reside in Malawi for the purpose of carrying on, practicing or
engaging in such business, profession or occupation for gain, profit or reward as self –employed
person or a partner or proprietor. (The funds to be invested should originate from a legal source outside minimum $50,000.00).
The permit is valid for 5 years from date of approval and is renewable for successive period of 5

A permit issued to a person authorising one to reside in Malawi permanently.

To apply for Malawi Visas and Permits, visit:


Malawi, the Warm Heart of Africa sits at the hub of Africa; two hour connection to any major air hub in Southern Africa. The land that captivated early Scottish Missionaries, remains a natural beauty with the one of the World’s largest fresh water lake and UNESCO’s World Heritage

The UN agency writes of Lake Malawi National Park, with over 1000 species of fish not found elsewhere in the World, “Located at the southern end of the great expanse of Lake Malawi, with its deep, clear waters and mountain backdrop, the national park is home to many hundreds of fish
species, nearly all endemic. Its importance for the study of evolution is comparable to that of the finches of the Galapagos Islands.”

Branded as “Lake of Stars” the Lake is part of the Great Rift Valley and it adds up to Malawi’s world of exquisite beauty as well as unsurpassed biodiversity. From the early Iron Age to the 20th century is another World Heritage Site and best kept secret for Historians and tourists and not far from main roads

For More on Malawi Travel and Tourism, visit: